Search the Aria Knowledgebase for
User Documentation, APIs, SDKs, and more!



 

Home > Aria6 User Documentation > Account Management > Delete an Account's Personal Data

Delete an Account's Personal Data

Overview

You can delete (anonymize) a customer's personal data in compliance with the General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR). When you use this feature, personally identifiable account information such as a name, user ID, and location data will be hidden.

When customers ask you to cancel their account, you can anonymize their data by completing the steps described below.

Notes:

  • The changes made by anonymizing data are irreversible so, before completing that process, it is highly recommended that you:
    • Record the customer's consent/confirmation; and
    • Address any open charges, credits, unbilled usage, etc. with the customer.
  • If you anonymize a parent account, the child account is not anonymized and vice versa.


You can also delete a customer's personal data using the delete_acct_data API (in Aria6) or delete_acct_data_m API (in Aria Crescendo).

Provide Access to Account Anonymization

To give authorized users at your company access to account anonymization, in the Aria application:

  1. Go to Configuration > Security > Account Access > Account Overview.
  2. Click on the Pages tab.

    clipboard_e91808e5428fcf264a190675fb2bb5512.png
     
  3. In the Account Security section, find Anonymize Account and ensure that On is selected so that the account anonymization feature is enabled for authorized users at your company.
  4. Select the Minimum CSR (customer service representative) Level required to access account anonymization.

    clipboard_ea7666fb3d3b7c747526ebdbbe8252b55.png
     
  5. Click Save.

 

Anonymize an Account

To delete a customer's personal data, in the Aria application:

  1. Go to Accounts > Search > select an Account.
  2. Click on the Account Security tab.
  3. Click Anonymize Account.

    clipboard_e21f5a111e156cd7390d18bcdbbb62a86.png

 

  1. Select Anonymize Account.

    clipboard_e73ab3922709954a1dd2d49b8078be84f.png
     
  2. Click Save Changes.

    This message appears under Anonymize Account "Account is anonymized".

    On the Account Overview screen, this message appears in the Recent Comments section: "Account data has been erased permanently due to client request."

    Personally identifiable account information is replaced with Xs and the user ID is replaced with a GUID (global unique identifier used for reference purposes) as shown below:

    clipboard_e805a561a386a6883fe25d290b52b681a.png
     

Last modified

Tags

This page has no custom tags.

Classifications

This page has no classifications.